Quittin’ Time

When I was 18, I started smoking. Just for now, just for a little while. I always said I would quit before it had been 10 years. At this point, it’s been over 12 years, and it’s certainly time.

Lately, I’ve been having trouble sleeping because of painful “pins and needles” sensations in my legs. Throughout the day, my legs are in constant pain. I’m working on scheduling a doctor’s appointment (which is a painful experience in and of itself) but at the very least, it looks like a circulation issue. I just can’t stand the thought of losing a leg because of smoking. So, I’ve decided it’s not only time to quit, it’s past time.

Over the next two weeks, I’m going to work on reducing my smoking from 20-30 cigarettes per day down to 10-15. Once I’ve gotten that far, it’s time to get on the patch. I’ve tried quitting before, but I’ve always let something get in my way. The longest I’ve ever gone was a month, but this time, it has to be for good. I can’t toss my life away like this.

Probably the worst part is that my husband, Scott, also smokes. There’s no way one of us can quit while the other continues. We have to do this together. It’s going to be a hard road, but with support and prayer, I know that we can do it.

Categories: Everything Else, On a personal note... | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

