7 Quick Takes Friday: Vol 2

-1-

Back in January, I made my 1 millionth pledge to lose weight and started doing The Biggest Loser Ultimate Workout on Xbox Kinect. I gradually added other workouts: on my Gazelle, my step deck, my bike, Zumba, and next thing you know, I’m running in the park! I lost 30 pounds in 5 months and was in the best shape of my life. I started training for my first 5k and then….things happened. We had illness in the family and things just got busy. I let myself go right around the beginning of June. I didn’t gain any weight back, but I stopped working out and I stopped losing weight. Almost 4 months later, I’ve decided to get back on track. So, I did my Kinect workout. I nearly died. That was two days ago and my legs are still screaming in pain. I keep telling myself I’m going to get in shape and stay in shape so I don’t have to go through this again. Maybe this time?

-2-

It’s been 3 weeks since I stopped using the nicotine patch. I’m not going to lie, I’ve had a couple of cigarettes since then. Maybe 3? In  That’s a long way from smoking 25-40 a day! I’ve also cut my coffee consumption after learning that coffee can indeed cause anxiety. I went from about 5 or 6 cups a day to 2 cups a day. Mentally, I want a cup of coffee and a smoke right now. That’s a “break.” However, physically, I’m okay. I don’t feel anxious or jittery. Here in a little while, I’ll go do a decade on the rosary and feel right as rain. I’m going to make it.

-3-

Scott and I are going to do a fast with 40 Days for Life starting Sunday. We have a few intentions we need to offer and it seems like a good time to regain some self discipline. Since we haven’t been smoking, we’ve been allowing ourselves to be lax in other things, but we can’t build new bad habits to replace old ones. This is the first time we’ve done anything like this together, so it should be interesting!

-4-

I’ve learned that in order to find a new job, you have to look for one. This is where I lose interest. I hate and despise filling out endless applications, faxing, mailing, emailing my resume–hey, what’s the point of a resume when you’re going to make me give you all the same information again on the application? It’s so tedious. Would someone out there just like to hire me “as is?”

-5-

I haven’t been reading a lot of books lately, so that’s yet another thing I’m trying to get back on track with. I just downloaded Bad Religion: How We Became a Nation of Heretics by Ross Gregory Douthat. So far, WOW. Expect a full book report soon! Better still, read along with me! For more info, here’s the review from the National Catholic Register.

-6-

I now have all my favorite blogs set up on Google Reader. Yay! Now I can check all my blogs in one handy dandy feed. Bad news: it only takes 2 seconds for me to see that I have nothing new to read!

-7-

About a month and a half ago, I deleted my Facebook, bid adieu to my 118 “friends,” and made a new page with just my immediate family, about 10 people. I was tired of election year shenanigans, specifically all the ugly things people had to post. No one, but no one posted anything good about their party or their candidate, it was all trash talk. It was difficult at first because I typically spend soooo much time on Facebook. Hours a day. Seriously. However, I’ve found it’s surprisingly wonderful to disconnect. In fact, the time I’ve been able to spend building this blog–as well as reading other Catholic blogs and websites–is the time I used to spend on Facebook. Going Faceless has been wonderful. I highly recommend.

Did my Quick Takes leave you longing for more? I always do, don’t I? Never fear. Head over to Conversion Diary for more Quick Takes!

Categories: 7 Quick Takes Friday, Everything Else | Tags: , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “7 Quick Takes Friday: Vol 2

  1. I’m with you in going faceless. Visiting Catholic sites and Catholic bloggers is time better spent. When I actually get back to FB after a long absence I get culture shocked and then long for the Catholic blogosphere. I’m checking out some of your posts and sites on your right sidebar.

  2. On the health front–go you! I have the motivation to exercise, but not the time. The logistics of child care are soooooo difficult. I admire you for your FB stance. The ugliness has been really bad–I just keep trying to insert reason and moderation, in the hopes that I can “guilt” ppl into better behavior. I know. I’m an idiot.

  3. @Annabelle, I’m with you on the culture shock! I was reading an article online at a news site and, as I’ve grown accustomed to doing with blogs, I scrolled down to check out the comments. My jaw hit the floor! @Kathleen, I never feel like I have the right words to speak. Which is one more reason I needed to take a step back and focus on faith. If I can work out my faith muscle, maybe I’ll be strong enough to find the right words to diffuse all that wrath that gets thrown around 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

