7 Quick Takes Friday: Vol 4 (Whiney-Butt Edition)

-1-

As you can see, I’ve fallen behind on my blogging. What you may not have seen is that I’ve fallen behind on everything else as well. Dinner hasn’t been cooked, carpets haven’t been vacuumed, laundry was done…by my poor husband. Contrary to what I ought to do, I’ve allowed myself to be consumed with anxiety about my MRI. I feel like I’m paused, waiting for my diagnosis before I continue. Well, I’m going to try to get back on track anyway. It could take more time and more tests before we know what’s going on. No point in pausing life. However, Scott may find that he likes doing laundry and will decide to continue doing it every week. There’s always hope, right?

-2-

I’ve been thinking about not posting the daily readings anymore going forward. However, there are a few good reasons I do. 1) It ensures that I read each day’s readings. 2) It sparks an interest in that day’s readings and increases my likelihood of seeking out a mass to enjoy. 3) It has created a nice blogging rule: before I post what I have to say, I post what God has to say. If I don’t have time to post both, I get the important message out first. So, I think I’ll continue for now, starting back up on Sunday.

-3-

About that MRI… I freaked out. Once I was locked in, I went into full panic mode. I cried, I pushed the panic button as hard as I could, I demanded to be let out! It was horrible! The technicians gave me headphones so I could listen to music, put a washcloth over my face so I couldn’t see that I was trapped in a tiny tube, and put me in feet first for our second try. I was in there for about 20 minutes and on the verge of having another freak-out the whole time. What kept me calm? Irony of ironies, I said the rosary and kept thinking about my day at the ocean.

-4-

It’s been almost 6 weeks since we stop smoking completely. I’ve had a few stumbles, but overall, I feel like I’m over it. The worst is when I’m at home by myself for hours on end. I get antsy and I want to smoke. It’s to the point where if I had a cigarette handy, I would smoke it. But it’s not so bad that I want to go out and buy a pack. So, it’s good. I don’t know how it’s going so good, but it’s good. The only explanation I have is grace.

-5-

I’ve also quit drinking as much coffee. I was having 1 8 oz cup at home, and then 3-4 additional 18 oz cups at work. Yes, that’s 62-80 oz of coffee daily. I’m down to 1 8 oz cup at home and 1 18 oz cup at work, for a total of 26 oz daily. I’ve also reduced my soda intake from 2 cans a day to 1 can a day and sometimes none. However, for all my healthier habits…

-6-

I can’t seem to shake the 10 pounds I gained when I quit smoking. 10 pounds isn’t bad. But it’s bad enough to form a nice jelly roll over the top of my work pants that are suddenly a smidge too small. Because of this, my plan to fast during 40 Days for Life has not worked out. I have to face the fact that I want to fast to lose weight, not to get closer to God. Pretending is not working out for me. So, I’m giving up on the premise of fasting and trying instead to just get healthy. Let’s face it, the holidays are coming and I don’t want to keep piling more pounds on. I made a lot of progress the first half of this year, but so far, I’ve just spent the last half falling backwards. Let’s not forget that both gluttony and sloth are sins.

-7-

For Christmas last year, I bought my dad a Shiatsu massage cushion. Due to his diabetes and high blood pressure, he hasn’t been able to use it, so it’s been sitting in the box untouched for 9 months. (He didn’t let us know he couldn’t use it until it was past being able to return it for something else. A few days ago, we went to see him and decided to just bring it on home with us since he wasn’t using it. Shiatsu massage cushion + comfy couch + seriously stressed out woman=aaaahh! Everyone should have one of these!

For more Quick Takes with less whine, head over to Conversion Diary!

Categories: 7 Quick Takes Friday, Everything Else | Tags: , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “7 Quick Takes Friday: Vol 4 (Whiney-Butt Edition)

  1. I know the anxious apprehension of waiting for test results. We are human. We worry. More lately now when I get too ‘crazy’ I think of the gospel where the apostles are out on a boat ride and freaking out and Jesus calms the water and makes a pithy comment. Now I understand more that outcome less important but more about faith building. Take care.

    PS I like the name of this blog. I can so relate.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

