7 Quick Takes Friday: Vol 7

-1-

I am officially a farmer! I harvested my first crop of spinach, and doesn’t it look delish? I actually planted a mesclun mix, but the spinach grew so high, so fast, and so thick that it blotted out the sun for the rest of the greens. I was so excited about a week of garden fresh veggies…and then it turned out to be just enough for each of us to have one helping of creamed spinach. Oh well, we can always grow more. It was wonderful!

-2-

After reading about Death by Bread at The Holy Terra, I decided to try a gluten free week to see if my numbness and pain would go away. I started Wednesday, so it’s not like I’ve actually gotten anywhere yet, but sheesh! Gluten intolerance is expensive! There was a teeny, tiny section at Walmart with gluten free items, and then we went to Natural Grocers, and of course, they had tons of stuff. For a price. I’ll go into more detail in another post. It’s been…interesting. If nothing else, this week should show me some empathy for those who live with food allergies/intolerance.

-3-

Scott and I are quickly approaching our 5 year anniversary! How exciting! We still don’t know how we’re going to celebrate. We’ll probably do dinner and a movie because we’re too lazy to get creative. Anyone have any movie recommendations?

4-

Did you know I have a sister site? Literally! I know what you’re thinking, Patron Saint of Lack of Commitment? Patron Saint of Phobias, ADD, and Hypochondria? Nope, it’s The Variant Purist. It’s my sister’s semi-Catholic blog. What’s semi-Catholic? Let’s just say she’s more indecisive than I am. Betsy is currently attending RCIA and still uncertain about joining the church. Please pray for her on her journey. For lack of a better picture, and because my anniversary is coming up, enjoy this picture of the two of us at my wedding:

I’m the one in white.

-5-

I’ve started a new fitness routine, and it’s highly controversial. I call it Rosary Yoga. The numbness in my arms and legs has slowly turned into searing pain. I’m still awaiting a diagnosis, but there aren’t a whole heck of a lot of things it could be at this point. In just about any of the possible outcomes, yoga is recommended to strengthen muscles, alleviate pain and maintain balance. Literal balance, not mental. I’m literally trying not to fall over. Anyhoo. Yoga happens to be very controversial and there are very good reasons for it. However, it just so happens to be the best solution for me right now. So, I invented Rosary Yoga. I throw in my rosary meditation CD and hold each pose for 2 Hail Marys. I think it’s positively genius, and will start a new Rosary Yoga movement. Or people will just whisper about how crazy I am. Like that’s anything new.

-6-

Speaking of controversial, I have a few issues with Halloween, however, the biggest one is that I just don’t care about it anymore so I usually don’t get any further than that. That’s especially sad considering the fact that Scott and I had our first date on Halloween, 7 years ago! Oh well. I would discuss my Halloween issues further, but there’s the whole “don’t care” thing. I look forward to All Saint’s Day and I’ll let Dr. Taylor Marshall tell you all about Halloween. Wonderful article. I read the whole thing, even though I don’t care. He’s that good.

-7-

Who else is ready for Advent? I’m still hoping to get all of my Christmas shopping done early so I can enjoy Advent for what it is instead of stressing out. My husband’s family is quite large, so we’ve been debating on just drawing names so we can pare down the number of gifts to worry about. It just seems like every year, I want to have a peaceful, meaningful Advent, but I always get sucked into the gift-buying mayhem. Maybe this year?

For Thanksgiving, I’m seriously considering freezing as many dishes as I can ahead of time so they can be easily prepared the day of. I don’t even know where we’re having Thanksgiving (large family and all that), but it couldn’t hurt to be prepared!

That was really weird, right? One minute we’re talking about me eating spinach out of the backyard, the next it’s Halloween and Yoga-but-it’s-okay-I-did-the-rosary-with-it. Then outta nowhere, I’m like, Merry Christmas!

Good grief. Check out Conversion Diary for more Quick Takes and hopefully fewer shenanigans.

One more thing. I think it’s worth noting that I spelled shenanigans right on the first try.

Categories: 7 Quick Takes Friday, Everything Else | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “7 Quick Takes Friday: Vol 7

  1. We have a large, extended family and we decided several years ago to draw names. Not only is it more economical, but it’s less stressful and, let’s face it, who needs so many gifts? At first just the adults drew names, and we bought for all the kids. Still a lot of stuff. So last year the adults drew names, and the kids did, too. It worked remarkably well. Less shopping and less stress.

    Good luck with the rosary yoga. My sister in law is training to be a yoga instructor (she is not Catholic) and my Mom (who is very Catholic) is worried. I’m in the middle, so when I do yoga (with a cd) I tend to do something similar to what you do with your rosary yoga.

    Have a blessed week!

  2. I love your idea for Rosary Yoga. I really enjoy the stretching benefits of practicing and feel amazing after I’ve done even just 20 minutes. I even feel taller (which is hard for a gal of just 5’3″)!

  3. I have not read the yoga post so all I can’t add anything, although anytime we come before Blessed Mother is wonderful, so mayne you have found a soultion.

    Good for you on the spinach! The kids and I have been adding spinach to our morning smoothies.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

