The Gluten Free Challenge Pt 2: Days 5-7

These are events that transpired about 2 weeks ago, but I’ve just not gotten around to posting. I went gluten free for about 2.5 weeks, at which point, my pain and numbness continued to get worse, so I decided it wasn’t doing me any good. It was worth ruling out, though!

Day 5: Gluten free on the road

I worked at a store in Oklahoma City for the day to help out with coverage. It’s tempting to just “wing it” when you’re working out of town, but I try to pack a lunch and stick to my routine as much as I can. I packed a bowl of beef & cabbage soup, a gluten free biscuit, an applesauce and a yogurt. Since I wasn’t sure when I would be able to eat my lunch, I packed a Bolthouse Farms Blue Goodness smoothie for the ride up. I think I’m starting to get the hang of this!

The guys I worked with decided to order wings and they offered to order me some as well. As sweet as the offer was, I said no. I didn’t have any idea what kind of gluten content I’d be getting myself into, so I decided to play it safe. Oh, it was tempting, though, especially when the wings arrived!

Day 6: PIZZA!!!

I’ve been on approximately 1,000,000,000 diets in my life. My goal for as long as I can remember has been perfect moderation. To know when to say yes to the deliciousness of pizza and when to say no. To be able to eat two slices and stop there.

This is where gluten fasting is wildly different from dieting. The time to say yes is never. The time to stop is at 0 slices of pizza.

I had a work meeting at our business office in OKC Sunday evening. The main focus was getting more business accounts at The CellPhone store, and blah blah blah, statistics on our business customers, blah blah, strategies for gaining new businesses, blah blah blah, dinner will be provided.

In case you hadn’t guessed, it was pizza.

Smarty-pants here assumed eating dinner at the meeting would be out of the question. Since I had to drive to the meeting immediately after my shift that day, I packed another Bolthouse Farms Blue Goodness smoothie. I’ve got to figure out how to make those myself or this habit could get a bit spendy! Having a belly full of smoothie sure was helpful when I arrived.

There was pizza as far as the eye could see.

Now, my vision is awful, so for me, maybe it wasn’t that far, but still. It was devastating. There were a few baskets of snacks scattered about, but I couldn’t have any of that either, and no one else was interested in anything but PIZZA. There’s just something particularly horrifying about the prospect of saying “no” to that greasy, cheesy goodness. Not just for now. FOREVER.

Meanwhile, my coworkers are reveling in their new-found pizza heaven. Plates were piled 4 and 5 slices high, no one was chewing, just steadily cramming the gooey goodness into their faces. The guy sitting next to me flipped one slice over on top of another and made a pizza sandwich. The wild gorging was like some Babylonian feast and I, I alone resisted the siren call of PIZZA!!!

I had a bottle of water.

On the way home, I started planning the hash brown quiche I would make when I got home. The 45 minute drive seemed to last forever, until finally, I was home! Out of courtesy, I asked Scott what he wanted for dinner before I got to cooking. His response ignited a fury in me the likes of which I could have never imagined.

“Don’t worry about me, I already ate. I had a pizza.”

ISN’T THAT JUST WONDERFUL FOR YOU?!?!?! AND EVERYONE ELSE IN THE WORLD?!?!?!? EVERYBODY GETS PIZZA TONIGHT BUT ME!!!!!!!

My favorite place in the world to eat pizza is Mazzio’s. I know Mazzio’s isn’t available everywhere, but it’s the best, hands down, as far as I’m concerned. There is no chain, no mom & pop brick oven pizzeria that can top Mazzio’s as far as I’m concerned.

After my considerable hissy fit, Scott insisted on going to Mazzios, where they are now serving gluten free pizza.

Even without the gluten, it’s still better than any other pizza place.

It’s so beautiful!

*Single tear rolls down my face….*

Day 7: You have donuts, I have a smoothie…

Tuesday means early morning meeting at The CellPhone Store. I fixed my breakfast in advance. I was quite proud.

Introducing Rebecca’s Blue Awesomeness! Why, yes, you may have the recipe!

1 banana

1/2 cup blueberries

1 cup apple juice

1/2 cup milk

Place all ingredients in blender. Blend until smoothie. Enjoy!

 

I’ve decided to try to transition from 2 cups of coffee a day to 1 and then just have a smoothie to go instead of a coffee to go. This was an experiment in mixing the day before, and it was a mad success.

Then I got to work.

There was a box of donuts sitting on the table. Staring at me. Literally

Okay, so I took this picture at the end of the day. It looked much yummier and less plaugey at the beginning of the day.

I stayed strong. I’m jealous of their donuts, yes. But certainly they’re jealous of my delicious smoothie.

Throughout the day, The donuts continued to stare at me. But I had my soup for lunch and my chicken salad roll-up. I tried to throw the last donut away to avoid temptation completely but one of my coworkers stopped me. “Someone might want it!” she said. I WANT IT!!!!

But I didn’t have it.

A much better option, in fact, the number one option for sandwiches is the roll-up. Corn tortillas are much less expensive than specialty tortillas or even regular flour ones. It is, however, very difficult to make a sandwich wrap out of them because of their size and texture. So, what I did was warm the tortillas up on my countertop grill, spread the sandwich mix on them, and roll them up! To increase speadability, I threw everything I wanted in my chicken salad or tuna salad in my mini food chopper and mixed it up like that. Very yummy! Two roll-ups and a bowl of soup make a wonderful lunch!

The Results

By the end of week 1, I was pretty much in the habit. By the end of week 2, it was a no-brainer. However, a few days after the 2 week mark, I started having trouble getting out of bed due to the numbness and pain in my arms and legs. So, it obviously isn’t a gluten intolerance. But, it was an eye-opening experience, that’s for sure!

Categories: Eat Better, Everything Else | Tags: , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “The Gluten Free Challenge Pt 2: Days 5-7

  1. Betsy Phillips

    Well, if it makes you feel any better I didn’t have pizza! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

