7 Quick Takes Friday: Vol 9

-1-

So beautiful…

After 2 weeks of being gluten free….I still feel like garbage. Last week was a particularly horrible. I could barely get out of bed in the morning, my arms and legs were in various levels of pain constantly, and my energy level was 0. Giving up gluten hadn’t done me one bit of good. Last Thursday, I told Scott I’d had it, and there was no point in continuing on when I wasn’t getting a bit better. Then, I sat down and ate some crackers. They were amazing.

-2-

Now that that’s over, I’m looking into some other options. Unfortunately, if said options work out, I may receive a diagnosis of hipster. I really don’t want that. More details on that later.

-3-

Sunday was St. Joseph’s Women’s Club’s 90th annual Thanksgiving dinner! It was just tremendous. Over the course of 4 days of cooking, 600 pounds of turkey were stuffed, cooked, sliced and boned and the bones boiled down for gravy, a flipping TON of potatoes were peeled and sliced by hand, and the people of the parish brought in over 300 pies! Now, much to my disappointment, the majority of these pies were store bought! Oh well, it was still a fantastic dinner. So much work goes into planning, preparing and cleaning up–and it’s been done the same way for just about the whole of the last 90 years. This was my first year to help out, and I’m looking forward to many, many, more.

One of the ladies that has been helping out since 1950, Margaret, had a nasty fall a few months ago. For, gosh, who knows how many years, she’s made potato soup for the workers on the day before the dinner. While she was recovering nicely, there was some concern over whether or not she would be able to participate this year. Thankfully, Margaret was able to make it to the church to walk some of the ladies through making the soup.

What does 90 years of tradition get you?

I’m salivating just looking at that picture! Just for the record, that is the BEST turkey gravy EVER!!!

4-

I am horribly saddened by the conflict in Israel. We must continue to pray for peace.

-5-

I know what you’ve been thinking: “Why aren’t there any really good, zany, Catholic reality TV shows?” Here come the Fulwiler’s to the rescue!

I just cannot wait. I think the title could be better. Something like “Of Converts and Scorpions” or “The Archdiocese of Arachnids” would certainly fit the bill.

-6-

Scott has been working the night shift for about 6 months now. Before we were married, I lived by myself for 5 years. For some reason, at the age of 30, after thousands of nights alone, I am suddenly terrified to go to bed by myself. I lay awake, clutching my teddy bear, hoping Scott will surprise me by coming home early. He never does.

What’s terrifying me? I lay there and convince myself there’s someone in the house. Suddenly, bits of horrible horror movies go racing through my head. I don’t know what’s got me so scared.

Penny Lane, my eldest cat, has abandoned me. She prefers hiding under the bed to looking after Mama. My youngest, Sylvia, has been a furry little angel. I’d probably not sleep a wink if she weren’t keeping watch all night.

Don’t worry, Mama! I’m keeping guard!

I hope I snap out of this soon. Sylvia deserves a break.

-7-

Does anyone else wish they were making a pilgrimage during the Year of Faith? I hadn’t thought of it until I saw the handy pilgrim kits the Holy See is handing out to pilgrims. Now I want to go!

The Fulwilers are on pilgrimage to a monastery this week! How exciting that must be! Head on over to Conversion Diary for more info and more quick takes!

Categories: 7 Quick Takes Friday, Everything Else | Tags: , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “7 Quick Takes Friday: Vol 9

  1. I am kind of with you about gluten free… I have decided to just cut down on the amount of gluten I eat. As for wishing I was going on a pilgrimage, yes I do! How awesome that would be to go during the year of faith. Happy weekend to you!

  2. Your Quick Take # 6 really cracked me up. :o)
    And # 7 Take is great news (about the pilgrim kit)….We are going to Rome! Our pastor is taking a group of our Altar Servers/Acolytes & their families…we’ve been saving up & fundraising for a couple years now….perfect timing!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

