7 Quick Takes Friday, Vol 11: Food, Food, Food, Blog, Advent, Nails, Nails.

-1-food-pyramid

In my ongoing saga of health issues, I still don’t have a lot of news. All we know for sure is that I have a bulged disk in my neck, but my neurologist doesn’t think that’s causing all my issues. About 3 weeks ago, I watched a few documentaries and did some pretty extensive research and decided to take on a “healing foods” diet. Lots of veggies and fruits, lots of water, no sugar, no white bread, no white rice, no white potatoes. The focus is lots of foods that reduce inflammation, and avoiding foods that cause it. At the time I started it, I was exhausted and in constant pain. Every morning, when I woke up, my arms and legs were so numb, I had a hard time getting out of bed. Since starting the plan, I have a lot less pain, but I’ve still got a long way to go. The onset of the holidays has not helped. Thanksgiving was a huge curve ball, and then with family stuff, I’ve eaten out probably 4 or 5 times in the last week. I know, I know, I can just have a salad when I go out to eat, but I have such a hard time doing it. I mean, I don’t want to pay 10$ for a salad I could prepare for myself, from my own garden, even!

-2-

To maximize my intake of raw vegetables, I’ve been having green smoothies for breakfast and lunch every day. I can get 5 servings of vegetables and 4 of fruit in just 2 smoothies! Plus, I also have a salad and some veggie-heavy soup with lunch, so any dinner veggies are a bonus! The problem with the smoothies and salad, is that I’ve been spending about half an hour a night rinsing and chopping vegetables and preparing my food for the next day. And I have to fix supper, too, so that’s another 30-60 minutes. And then there’s clean-up…so I spend about 2 hours in the kitchen every night. So, I took all the fruit I had, and measured it out for 10 smooties and put them in the freezer, and then did the same with my greens and put them in the fridge. So now, making a smoothie is as easy as measuring some almond milk and juice into the blender, grabbing a bag of greens and a bag of fruit and dumping it in! 5 minutes!

-3-

21WerujkJiLNow, onto dinners. With my “special diet,” I’ve been fixing dinner just for myself and when Scottie comes home (at 2am), he’s on his own. Occasionally, I’ll make him some hamburger helper (do not judge!) but I’ve been spending enough time in the kitchen as it is!

So, I started looking at Crock-Pot freezer meals. Seems simple enough. Prepare 20 meals at once! Just put everything in a freezer bag, freeze it, then pop a bag in the Crock-Pot in the morning, and come home to dinner! It’s a little tricky to find food I can have on my plan, not to mention I really should be eating mostly fish, but…I think we’re going to give it a go.

4-

And now, for something completely different! There are certain blogs that, when I see new items in my Google Reader, give me the sensation of the guiltiest of pleasures. There’s nothing wrong with any of the blogs I follow, or I wouldn’t follow them, but when I see…

badcatholic

I smile, snicker, then sort of look around to see if anyone’s watching before I click on it. Where else can you get a “Rebuttal Up in Hurrrrr!” that is eloquent and thoughtful without being stuffy? Who else will admit that disasters make us just a little bit happy, which then gives us license to consider why? After reading Marc’s ponderings about Andy Warhol, I was just breathless. I cannot recommend this blog more.

The reason I bring it up today is because of this article, about the Guttmacher institute, which made me sick to read. If you didn’t know, Guttmacher is the propaganda center for Planned Parenthood, and they are top notch at spitting out lies. It’s just disgusting.

-5-

Week 1 of Advent is winding down and I’m a little sad. Scott is working nights so I’m lighting the candle by myself every night, and doing the Jesse tree devotions on my own. It’s oddly appropriate, though. Advent is a time when we don’t celebrate, not quite yet, but we prepare in anticipation of the joy that is to come. Advent teaches us to wait.

-6-

I got my annual Christmas manicure! My favorite manicure of the year!

download (2)

-7-

Well, it usually is. I still look at my Hawaii manicure with great affection.

377626_117120548435327_147244066_n

Did I love the manicure for what it was…or for what it was for? That’s the eternal question, right there.

As always, there are more Quick Takes over at Conversion Diary!

 

Categories: 7 Quick Takes Friday, Eat Better, Everything Else | Tags: , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “7 Quick Takes Friday, Vol 11: Food, Food, Food, Blog, Advent, Nails, Nails.

  1. The two “nails” pictures are bugging the crap out of me. One was taken at my desk at work, the other while we were waiting for the pig to be dug out at a luau. CONTRAST.

  2. Yay for green smoothies! I hope you continue to feel better.

  3. Jeanne G.

    I sometimes have green smoothies for breakfast, but I haven’t gone nearly as far as you have. I think I’m still waiting for it to be more painful not to change than it is to make the change. It is a pain to eat healthy! Unhealthy food is just so yummy!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

