7 Quick Takes Friday, Vol 18: Preparing for Lent

1: The Scapular Challenge

3535583670_9f417c1b3cI wrote about the myths and truths of the Brown Scapular on Wednesday, and in my fervor, I extended a challenge: To wear a Brown Scapular and tell one person what it’s really all about (and it’s not about having a free ride to Heaven). I’m considering ordering 25 from the Free Brown Scapular website and leaving 24 of them in the chapel with a little brochure telling the story. I may need someone to type up a Spanish version. If you would be interested in being my Spanish translator, let me know, and I’ll work on a short pamphlet outlining what the Brown Scapular is for. Well, first I’ll look for one online. That would be nice if it was already done for me. I’ll probably still need a translator, though!

Why would I only leave 24 in the chapel? I’d carry the other with me to give to the one person I’m going to verbally tell about the true purpose of the Brown Scapular!

Available for purchase on Kindle and free through Amazon Prime Lender’s Library

2: Mercy Most Divine

Since I get to read a book for free every month on my Kindle with Amazon Prime, I decided to read a Catholic book and do a review on it. I selected Blessed Pope John Paul II, the Diary of St Faustina and the End Times for this month, but I took it a little further. Since Scott and I both have Kindles, I suggested that he read it as well, with me. We’ve never done such a thing before, and neither of us knew the fully history of Divine Mercy.

Let’s just say, it’s been absolutely wonderful and we will definitely be doing it again! Scott has been on the night shift for 7 months now, and we see so little of each other. Reading this book together has been a reminder that we’re both on the same journey. Which, really, it’s so easy to get caught up in my spiritual journey and my prayer life that I don’t always recognize that it’s our spiritual journey and our prayer life. We are bound together in all things, especially our road to Heaven.

Read this book! Or any spiritual book with your spouse!

3: Are You Ready for Lent?

I, for one, am incredibly excited about Lent. It’s like Advent, without all the pressure. In fact, lack of pressure is a rule. No, you may not spend all day baking cookies and cakes! No wild spending sprees for you! Don’t even think of gorging yourself at a family dinner!

As we prepare for this reflective and penitential season, it is good to have a game plan and make sure that you have the resources you need. Our parish offers the Little Black Book for sale in the office. Someone from Women’s Club was kind enough to buy a box of them to hand out to all of us at our February meeting. It’s also available on Kindle. Magnificat Lent Companion is available in print or on Kindle. That is in addition to the Magnificat Year of Faith Companion. And Lent is a wonderful time to start getting into the habit of doing the Liturgy of the Hours! Don’t forget your daily reading and meditations!

That’s one thing Lent has in common with Christmas and Thanksgiving: it’s easy
to put too much on your plate, bite off more than you can chew, and end up with a serious case of indigestion. I’ve decided to keep the Little Black Book in my purse to read at lunch, do the Magnificat daily readings, prayers and meditations for mornings and evenings as well as Consoling the Heart of Jesus: A Do-It-Yourself Ignatian Retreat. I purchased the book at our parish book fair on Sunday, as well as a prayer companion. That’s a lot to do, so I’ll be checking in on myself to make sure I don’t get overwhelmed and just give up.

Just remember: there will be Lent next year, and whatever devotional you don’t do this year, you can do then if you still feel drawn to it. If you die before Lent comes around next year, well, you’ll have a highly spiritual experience then!

4: Speaking of Fasting…

I’ve been pretty darn good about sticking to my workout routine. However, my snacking routine has intensified dramatically so I have made no progress towards any New Year’s weight loss goals. It can be awkward to fast when you want to lose weight because it feels like your motives aren’t pure. The candid and controversial Simcha Fisher wrote up a wonderful little post on the topic. If you haven’t read it, I highly recommend, especially if your baggage is spiritual and physical.

5: Curvio! Ooh-la-la!

Have you ever sat in front of the TV, seething in envy over a particular dress or accessory an actress was wearing without the faintest clue of where you might find it? Enter Curvio! I just discovered this little gem that allows you to sort through TV shows, right down to the particular episode of Mad Men where you saw that amazing little sweater. The matches aren’t always exact, but they come pretty darn close! There aren’t a whole lot of shows up right now, but Mad Men is on the list, and that’s the one we really want the outfits from, right?

6: Run for Your Life!

tumblr_m5b0wbCqKk1qhuj80o1_500

I am officially registered for the Color Me Rad 5K in Oklahoma City on May 11! Which means I need to start running. Soon. I found this lovely little 5K plan from The Color Run (which is essentially the same thing as Color Me Rad) but there are tons of 5K programs you can follow. The most important thing is to do it! Last year, I was able to do a full mile before I fell off the wagon. That may not seem like much to you, but for a fat smoker who never played sports growing up, it was a big deal! 

When I get out of work tonight, I’m going to go out shopping for running shoes and try to start a running routine on Saturday if I can. I’ve got some pretty bad shin splints so I may not be able to progress at such a rapid pace, but I’ve got 3 months, so I can go slowly, I just have to keep going!

Previously, I had some concern over registering because I didn’t know who the charity would be, but I have since learned that it will be The Cystic Fibrosis Foundation!

7: One More Take!

I’ve been awfully long winded in these takes, so I’ll be short and sweet and Saintly!

b1ae37950b37f5a9b6e9d2d4b3d76584

 

Had enough nonsense? Looking for something coherent? You can try again back at Conversion Diary!

Categories: 7 Quick Takes Friday | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “7 Quick Takes Friday, Vol 18: Preparing for Lent

  1. I really enjoyed your comments on Lent! My downfall is always biting off more than I can chew, and I can already see me in danger of doing it yet again. And my sister did the color run last summer and loved it! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

