St. Michael, Defend Us in Battle

Saturday evening, my sister-in-law and I went to Walmart together, and while we were there, we rummaged through the prayer candles on display. We rolled our eyes at the “Lucky Lotto” candle, and gasped in joy when we found a Fatima candle–then rooted around until we found  another so we could each have one. I ended up with the Fatima candle (I’ve been researching and praying because of my long-time issues with disbelieving apparitions) and the St. Michael candle, just because. Monday, after Pope Benedict’s announcement, and the ensuing press storm, I felt myself praying, “St. Michael, defend us in battle” over and over again and wishing I knew the rest of the prayer by heart.

As part of my research into apparitions, I purchased a Lighthouse CD on Fatima by Fr. Jason Brooks, which I started listening to in the car on Saturday and finished up last night on my way home from the store. At the very end, Fr. Brooks recited the St. Michael prayer, which sent a chill up my spine and reaffirmed that this is a prayer that needs to be said right now!

 

Prayer to St. Michael the Archangel001

Saint Michael the Archangel,
defend us in battle.
Be our protection against the wickedness and snares of the devil.
May God rebuke him, we humbly pray;
and do Thou, O Prince of the Heavenly Host –
by the Divine Power of God –
cast into hell, satan and all the evil spirits,
who roam throughout the world seeking the ruin of souls.

Categories: Daily Prayer | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

