7 Quick Takes Friday, Vol 20


Yes, I’m running awfully late on this–it’s been a heck of a week!

1: Behind the Times

I use Chrome web browser at work because our work computers are currently still on Windows XP (nope, not joking). If you’re familiar with Chrome, you know that it gives you little mini screen-shots of your favorite pages so you can easily point to the one you want to visit next. What’s wrong with that. Well, the WordPress screen shot is from February 1, as evidenced by Simcha’s post in my feed. Pinterest updated yesterday, Facebook updated yesterday, based on the low number of digits on my checking account, I’d say that was week before last, around Tuesday, and Amazon offered to let me watch Downton Abbey for $Too.much about 2 or 3 weeks ago. OpenHouse OK and Douay-Rheims Catholic Bible don’t really update their home pages, so they’re all pretty current. Except Google. There in the upper left corner is Google, with a screen shot from HALLOWEEN!!! HALLOWEEN!!!! It was a haunted house interactive animation, and it was just as cute as it could be, but it’s LENT!!! Good grief, even Valentine’s has passed! HALLLOWEEN!!!! It’s been driving me crazy since the week before Thanksgiving!

chrome

#firstworldproblems

2: Mmmmm, mmmmmm, LENT!

I was absolutely delighted to see this pop up on Pinterest a few days ago.

59d050d0c2d10b7d333e8328e297b3f1

Ever since we converted, my eyes have been opened to the “silent Lent” marketing campaigns that crop up everywhere this time of year. Well, either they’re catering to Catholics or they just happened to bring out a limited-time-only fish sandwich just in time for Lent. It’s nice to see an old ad where they just come out and say it: We want you to buy this because it’s Lent!

The pea soup is wonderful, by the by.

3: Andy is Dandy!

This week, I have discovered that I love and adore Andy Warhol! After seeing that wonderful Lent ad for Campbell’s Soup, I started looking for more, and, of course, Andy’s paintings of soup cans came up. I’ve seen them a million times before, but never gave them much thought before. After looking at some of the paintings, I Googled something along the lines of “What was up with Andy Warhol and all the soup paintings?” and discovered that there are several different tales as to why he painted soup cans over and over again. The one I believe is the simplest: he ate soup for lunch every day and had the cans laying around, so he started sketching and then painting them. I love it!

One more word about this topic and I’ll move onto something more irrational: If you haven’t read Bad Catholic’s piece on Andy Warhol, you need to go read it right meow!

4: I Keep Getting Crazier

I’ve been seeing a lot of knitting stuff on Pinterest lately, and knitting in general does not bother me. It’s “arm knitting” that’s driving me crazy. Maybe it’s part of my claustrophobia, but the thought…*gasp*…..of tying yarn around my arms….*gasp*….and trying….*gasp*….no, no, no, no, NO!!!!!!! Don’t get me wrong, the finished products look great, but, but,….I just can’t.

5: How is Lent Going?23ksubb

BAD. I’m not freaking out about swapping my smartphone out for a flip phone. Really not at all. It’s such a minor inconvenience, I’m upset with myself for feeling like I need a smartphone to begin with. Other than that…well, I’ve been saying my rosary almost every night. However, I’ve hit some major interference, which is certainly to be expected. Ash Wednesday, I was flying high, and spent the entire evening in prayer and study. A week later, I was as low as the dust and spent the entire evening sobbing and crying and praying that God would send me to a hermitage, anything to take me away from the constant attacks that were suddenly coming at me from every angle.

I was ready to give up altogether, but then I remembered something from Sunday’s Gospel Reading:

Filled with the Holy Spirit, Jesus returned from the Jordan and was led by the Spirit into the desert for forty days, to be tempted by the devil.  

–Luke 4:1

Jesus was led into the desert to be tempted by the devil. Not to tie-dye Easter eggs or work on His novel. Not for quiet reflection and meditation. To be tempted, to struggle, and to overcome. The same thing happens to us. If I’m downtrodden, it’s time to get on my knees. That’s been hard to do when all I want to do is curl up in bed, for, oh, FOREVER, but quitting won’t get you anywhere.

I fully intend to dive much deeper into this topic in a later post. Stay tuned. Worried about the quality of such a post? Share your thoughts in the comments or email me at patronsaintofindecisiveness@gmail.com and give me a hand!

6: Pintastic!

I’ve gone a little pin crazy lately. I’ve cleaned our microfiber couches with rubbing alcohol (the slight odor that goes away in 15-20 minutes is suffocating and lasts at least 12 hours, but the couches look great), made homemade “febreze,” which I am obsessed with spraying on the couches, and cleaned all my jewelry with a homemade solution in a foil-lined bowl. Turns out, I don’t need a new crucifix after all! The old one was just covered in Rebecca grease–ew!

7: Vatican II, Actually

For my final take, I’m going to simply link up to Pope Benedict XVI’s intimate and unscripted talk about Vatican II. It’s much better than anything I could say!

If you haven’t made it over to Conversion Diary, please stop by for more (and more timely) quick takes!

Categories: 7 Quick Takes Friday | Tags: , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “7 Quick Takes Friday, Vol 20

  1. travels with mary

    “Jesus was led into the desert to be tempted by the devil. Not to tie-dye Easter eggs or work on His novel. Not for quiet reflection and meditation.” I laughed out loud when I read this! And I totally needed to hear it!

    Also I think arm-knitting is interesting (and it’s one of my to-try things from Pinterest) but I totally get being frightened by it. I’m going to need to have my husband on standby when I attempt it– so there will be someone to do an emergency yarn removal if needed!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

