7 Quick Takes Friday, Vol 22: New Pontificate Edition

tumblr_mjm901SHSF1rf9hn3o1_1280

Thank you, God, for our humble Pope Francis! I’m afraid humility will be our biggest lesson in the years to come.

1. We Have a Pope!

I just can’t stop saying that! It seems like it’s been much much longer than 2 weeks since we became popeless. It seems like it was months at the very least! I’m just tickled pink with our new pope! We’re just blessed beyond belief! It’s the most exciting thing since…I don’t know what! My wedding? Scott and I converted in 2007, (apparently 2 years to the day after John Paul II’s funeral) so Benedict was already pope, and he’s been our only pope. This is the first time we’ve seen a new papal election! I watched from work, but poor Scott didn’t find out until he got off work at 5:30! I hated that Scott didn’t get to watch it live like I did (as well as his parents in Saudi Arabia!) but he was able to watch the whole thing (with the waiting period highly abbreviated) on….

2. EWTN!!!!  

I just want to remark on the fact that I seem to be mentioning EWTN all the time. It’s like I’m an EWTN hipster. Every time I turn around, I’m all like, “Oh no, I don’t watch that channel. I watch EWTN. It’s totally in between my gas and electric bill. With my electric bill first because I’d rather have my gas turned off and not be able to have a hot shower than have my electric bill turned off and not be able to watch EWTN.”

36197445

I’ve been so grateful for EWTN’s coverage of the conclave and the new pontificate. Just a friendly reminder, this wonderful coverage from Rome is quite pricey, so if you can spare a dollar or two, please consider donating. If not, they have the live stream on their website, and just about everything they air goes straight to YouTube, so you can stay in the know on our new Pope Francis!

3. A Funny Picture with an Emotional Twist

Maybe it’s emotional to me just because I’m so emotional after this week’s events! Certainly you’ve seen this picture:
7c4e808a807b47f171a6594d82b3412fIt makes me smile every time I see it! However, if I look at it long enough, I just want to cry!

Up top, we have John Paul the Great. Just the look on his face–that knowing look! I never got to be a John Paul Catholic. No, while he was pope, I was still convinced that the Catholic Church represented everything that was wrong with Christianity. John Paul II is the pope I wish I had, the one I missed out on because of my stubbornness!

Next up, Benedict XVI, our beloved Pope Emeritus, the only pope I’ve ever known as a Catholic. I’ll miss that smile! That seems like such a funny thing to say. I’ve only ever seen him in pictures, and I can pull up a picture of him anytime I want. It just won’t be the same, looking at that jolly smile and knowing he’s not our pope anymore!

Then, we have Pope Francis, in whom we placed our absolute trust before we even saw his face or knew his name! Of course, we trust him because we trust the one he serves!

4. In Other News…

I can hardly recognize “other news.” As you may know, I work at The CellPhone Store, and Samsung had a big launch event for their newest Galaxy phone tonight. So, all my coworkers were just dying, waiting to punch out so they can go home and watch live coverage and I was like, “Whatever. It’s not like it’s POPE FRANCIS!!!!”

5. In the Garden2012-10-21_19-09-34_262

I’m starting work on my spring/summer vegetable garden tomorrow! I’m growing tomatoes, squash, eggplant, spinach, green beans, carrots, pumpkins, potatoes and who knows what else! I’m super stoked about it. Hopefully we’ll be eating more vegetables and spending less money! I also fully intend to use my pressure canner to can all sorts of wonderful things! Is anyone else starting a garden? Anybody got any tips for growing in Oooooklahoma, where the wind comes sweeping down the plain and it’s 110 degrees all summer?

6. Copyright Laws and Me

A few weeks ago, I had a bit of a conundrum. I was reading a book about Divine Mercy and suddenly became horrified that we did not have a Divine Mercy image hanging on the wall. I bought a picture frame and some photo paper straight away and set about rectifying the situation when my printer, a Canon, went haywire and leaked ink all over itself until it no longer worked.

These are difficult moments.

I don’t want to be superstitious, and I certainly don’t want to give the impression that I’m leaping at shadows and blaming everything on the devil. It’s just that, well, if my printer goes dead when I try to print a picture of Jesus, what else am I supposed to think?!?!?!?!?!?! So, I became more and more determined to print that photo. And one for everyone I know. Just to be safe.

I ended up spending a lot of money on a new printer. When I told my half-converted sister, Betsy that I was sending her a picture, she got on to me of course and told me I could not print it off without permission or I would have to deal with copyright laws. I told her that Jesus told Faustina he wanted this image shared with the world. There’s my permission right there.

Betsy’s response was…..”Jesus doesn’t usurp copyright laws.”

Every time I look at my “illegal” Divine Mercy image, I chuckle at that one. As long as I’m not selling them, I think I’m alright.

7. #catladyproblems

Last week, it was all about my poor Penny Lane and her big surgery. She is doing so much better! Thank you all for the well wishes and prayers for my furry little angel.

039

I’ll bet that with all the quick takes that are sprouting up on Conversion Diary this weekend, you might find another mention or two of Pope Francis!

Categories: 7 Quick Takes Friday | Tags: , , , , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “7 Quick Takes Friday, Vol 22: New Pontificate Edition

  1. #7: Glad your kitty is doing better. My four were my practice kids before having my son.

  2. Like you, I wish I’d known JPII as a pope. I became Catholic almost a year ago. So, Pope Benedict was “my” pope and now Pope Francis.

  3. I understand the copyright fear…and I am an attorney so I shouldn’t have those feelings. And here I thought my s3 wa s awesome

  4. I love the Divine Mercy image! And Jesus totally trumps copyright. 🙂

  5. I’m the same way about EWTN too. I got so mad watching CNN earlier this week because the reporter named Ashley Banfield rolled her eyes and was rude when talking about conclave. I thought how is this journalism? You should check out Salt and Light Media. Father Rosica interviews cardinals on Salt and Light. I watch it on Youtube. Hope you have a nice weekend!

  6. Jeanne G.

    I agree with you about the Divine Mercy image. Jesus told St. Faustina that it should be venerated all over the world. That means you should be able to print out your own. As long as you don’t sell it.

  7. Jesus and copyright! I love it!! I say break all the copyright laws for the Divine Mercy picture!!! First time seeing your blog, I will be reading in the future! 🙂

  8. I came into the Church under JPII, but didn’t really fall wholeheartedly into my new faith until BXVI. Never be sad you weren’t Catholic under JPII. With our treasury of saints, he will always be part of your Catholic identity! And just think of the treasures he left us!

    “Then, we have Pope Francis, in whom we placed our absolute trust before we even saw his face or knew his name! Of course, we trust him because we trust the one he serves!” My favorite quote from your whole blog – so profound!

    And hello, if Jesus said “share,” man really can’t usurp that command. 😉 Love the Divine Mercy.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

