Dear Rebecca: In Which I Answer Your Burning, Yearning Questions

I am constantly besieged by questions from readers such as yourself. Questions you’re not comfortable with asking me directly, so you type them into a search engine, and then, while looking over your search results, you click on my blog to find the answer! Well, answers you shall have!

who is the patron saint of indecisiveness?StM

This is the most common question I come across, and the answer is easy: there isn’t one. It’s just a clever name for my blog based on someone making a snarky remark about what a bad Catholic I am. Leave indecisiveness behind and make a firm resolution to follow Christ!

I’d also like to throw in, just as a bonus, a little word of affirmation. It’s not just you, it’s really hard to spell the word “indecisiveness!” In fact, that’s probably the number one reason I’m constantly wanting to change the name of my blog. I just can’t decide on a new name.

who is the patron saint of grave diggers?

I certainly hope you’re asking that question as a matter of professional curiosity!

The answer is absolutely fascinating! The first response I got was St. Anthony the Abbot–who was he? That’s a much better question! He was a hermit, who upon hearing the gospel message to give away what we have and follow Christ,  walked out the door of the church and into the unknown to live a life of prayer and fasting, giving away everything he had. St. Anthony wasn’t mere middle class, oh no, he was quite wealthy.

Whenever St. Anthony would learn of someone who was holy, he would travel to see them so that he could imitate their holiness and become closer to God.

Giving up everything wasn’t easy. There were many temptations and struggles, but God spoke to St. Anthony and told him because he persevered that He would protect him forever. At this time, St. Anthony was living in a tomb, so I suppose that’s where the grave digger thing comes from.

Many who came to see St. Anthony were healed, so naturally, more and more people came to see him. Fearing that he would become prideful, St. Anthony fled to the desert, where he was cared for by Saracens until his friends inevitably caught up with him again. He lived to be 105 and is the patron of basket makers, skin diseases, brush makers and gravediggers.

saint michael the arc angle birth and death date?

St. Michael the Archangel is, and has ever been an angel. While he was certainly created at some point, and may someday cease to exist, these moments would not fall within the confines of our modern calendar. I think perhaps you are laboring under the misconception that when we die, we become angels. This is simply not true. Angels and humans are two completely different types of beings and cannot transform into each other. That would be comparable to a dog becoming a cat or a  shrub becoming a rose bush. Your question, however, does give me another opportunity to extol the virtues of saying the St. Michael prayer.

after been gluten free for a week my arm started going numb?

Go to the doctor! ASAP!

cat dressed as pope

Certainly!

98138284_44b0c38ed5

doesn’t mea culpa mean?

Mea culpa literally means “my fault.” It is part of one of the forms of the Penitential Rite during Mass (it’s not used very frequently, unfortunately) and the full text is:

Confíteor Deo omnipoténti et vobis, fratres,quia peccávi nimis cogitatióne, verbo, ópere et omissióne:mea culpa, mea culpa, mea máxima culpa.Ideo precor beátam Maríam semper Vírginem,omnes Angelos et Sanctos, et vos, fratres,oráre pro me ad Dóminum Deum nostrum.

Which translates to:

I confess to almighty God and to you, my brothers and sisters,that I have greatly sinned,in my thoughts and in my words,in what I have done and in what I have failed to do,through my fault, through my fault,through my most grievous fault; therefore I ask blessed Mary ever-Virgin,all the Angels and Saints,and you, my brothers and sisters,to pray for me to the Lord our God.

is mazzio’s gluten free pizza safe?

Since it is prepared in a kitchen where products containing gluten are also prepared, it is not considered safe for those with severe reactions to gluten. I would imagine flour flies around and gets on everything so there you go. However, for those who can tolerate trace amounts of gluten, it is absolutely delicious! You may be tempted to eat the whole pizza, so no, it’s not safe at all!

what does repatronizing mean?

I don’t think it means anything–I’m pretty sure I made it up!

what saints practiced temperance?

I’m pretty sure the best answer to that is “all of them.” However, I did find a lovely gem of a prayer for temperance.

too much spinach soup?070

I only include this one because it has been asked FIVE BLOODY TIMES!!!!

Eating too much spinach can cause you to have iron absorption problems, kidney stones, or other digestive problems. You should have green vegetables every day, but it is important to have different vegetables so that you don’t have issues with mineral buildup. Variety is important to a balanced diet.

is st.clare a patron of something or someone?

Yeeeees…For one thing she’s the patron of television, so ask for her aid when you’re searching for wholesome programming on Netflix. St Clare spent an awful lot of time on her sick bed, and when she was too ill to go to Mass, she would see the mass projected on the wall of her chamber.  Though it sounds far fetched, Clare was able to confirm what people were wearing, where they were standing, who was present and other details that she would not have been able to know otherwise. She’s also the patron of eye disease, goldsmiths, laundry,embroiderers, gilders, good weather, needleworkers, Santa Clara Pueblo, telephones, and telegraphs.

Goldsmiths? The Clares are impoverished! Where did that come from?!?!?!

Those crazy patron saints!

imposter pope francis genuflect?

What?

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Dear Rebecca: In Which I Answer Your Burning, Yearning Questions

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

